Student Leaders

Ōtaki College Heads of School all have Student Council, Sub-Council and House responsibilities. This structure has been developed to encourage a wide range of leadership roles and opportunities for students at Ōtaki College.

The 2022 Team:

Ngā Kākākura (Heads of School):

Pounamu MacKay (until 31 March)

Pounamu, after a great deal of heart-searching, left College and her roll as Kākākura to take up a Rugby Scholarship in Japan. You can read about her first impressions of life in Japan here.

Max McHugo

Tia Brown (from 6 May)

Jessica Thomsen (from 6 May)

Ngā Kaingārahu (Associate Heads of School):

Kaea Hakaraia-Hosking

Kate Hall

Paris Karl-Fields

Charlie Simpson

Alyssa Te Wiata

Lana Whitton

Lily Yaxley

2023 Ngā Ringa Whero - Heads of School Team

Ngā Kākākura/Heads of School

Hannah Thompson

Caleb Smith

Ngā Ringa Tauawhiawhi/Deputy Heads

Te Akau Epiha

Sam Georgetti

Kaingārahu/Associate Heads

Sophie Carpenter

Regan Crighton

Karen Dai

William Fogden

Skye Heenan

Jessica Ngan

Tyrone Taueki-Monaghan

Siena Vidulich

Max McHugo and Pounamu MacKay

Student Councils 2022:


Genna McAlpine, Lana Whitton


Kate Hall


Tia Brown, Max McHugo, Pounamu MacKay, Charlie Simpson


Kaia Hakaraia-Hosking, Paris Karl-Fields, Alyssa Te Wiata, Jess Thomsen, Lily Yaxley

Student Councils 2023

Runanga Kura/School Council

Hannah Thompson, Caleb Smith, Te Akau Epiha and Sam Georgetti

Runanga Toi/Arts Council

Regan Crighton and Jessica Ngan

Runanga Whanonga me te Ahurea/College Culture and PB4L Council

Sophie Carpenter and Sienna Vidulich

Runanga Hakenakena/Sports Council

William Fogden and Tyrone Taueki-Monaghan

Runanga Hauora me te Taiao/Wellbeing and Environment Council

Karen Dai and Skye Heenan

Jessica Thomsen, Max McHugo, Tia Brown

House Captains 2022:


Senior Captains: Paris Karl-Fields, Charlie Simpson, Alyssa Te Wiata

9&10 House Captain:

7&8 House Captain:


Senior Captains: Max McHugo, Jessica Thomsen, Lily Yaxley

9&10 House Captain:

7&8 House Captain:


Senior Captains: Tia Brown, Kaea Hakaraia-Hosking, Kate Hall

9&10 House Captain:

7&8 House Captain:


Senior Captain: Regan Crighton, Sam Georgetti, Lana Whitton

9&10 House Captain:

7&8 House Captain:

Leadership training with Wing Commander, Tim Costley